On Proposals

I read this really awesome post over on freelance folder recently, and immediately took to the idea. Basically, the idea is that you should offer customer tiered services options, like small, medium, or large. It’s not just tiers, though, it can also be varieties of service, like chocolate, vanilla or strawberry.

I’m interested in the idea now, but I haven’t always been. For example, I was wary of limiting my portrait services to a few chintzy packages because I didn’t want to limit my offerings. I pride myself on the unique nature of each portrait session I perform. I didn’t want people to think I could *only* do the things listed on my sales sheet.

My experience has shown, though, that this “I’ll do anything you want” mindset is flawed. More often than not, I have had people tell me that the idea of figuring out what prints to order was daunting. And so, they don’t order. The problem is that people have no idea what they want. Not until they see it, at least.

Create options that scratch a majority of your customers’ itches, and you save your customers the trouble of figuring out what they need, and then effectively communicating that desire to you. I am still offering my unique portraits, but I am now framing that offering as a set of choices. The uptake, I hope, will be that customers find it easier to order from me. Once they’ve decided to buy, we can then discuss the details of our portrait session. Much easier than trying to negotiate prices and logistics on the fly.

  1. Reneese Mackey

    Hi,
    I’m Reneese and I’m working at a company interested in website and blog advertising. I have seen your site’s potential for advertising and I believe that our client’s business would be well suited for a link placement in your site. Our client’s business offers services for all types of printing jobs from business cards, postcards, greeting cards to large print projects for posters and vinyl banners. It would be of great help to your readers to be informed of such printing business.

    Let me know if you are indeed interested. Please get back to me (reneese.mackey777@gmail.com) with your name and URL address so I can send you further details.
    Looking forward to do business with you.

    Sincerely,
    Reneese Mackey




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

