Hello.

My name is Shaun, and this is my new blog. I am a professional photographer in Atlanta, GA. Here’s my portfolio. I’m going to use this blog to post pictures and talk about my experiences as a shooter here in the Big Peach. I’m new to the business, so I am going to focus the business topics to things like getting established, gaining new clients, maximizing your income so you can survive, lighting tips, equipment tips, photoshop tips, and other related stuff.

The idea is that I think that new photographers face a huge uphill battle. Their competition has a better marketing budget, has better equipment, and pre-existing relationships with regular customers than you do. Most importantly, they have established profitable working patterns, so the progress that they do make is always forward.

It’s not so easy for a new photographer. There are difficult, primary, basic questions that need to be answered. Here are just a few:

What style (or styles) of photography are both enjoyable and profitable?

How does the market work?

Where do clients come from?

What things can I charge for?

How much should I charge for them?

What are the hazards and pitfalls of starting a photography business?

The list goes on and on, and each answer is crucial to knowing how you will conduct your business. Hopefully, I will be able to address these issues. I also want to post some examples of my own work, anecdotes, and other such things. I am going to use this blog as a way to focus my thoughts, collect relevant information for me to use later, and to maybe, hopefully, help out other new photographers or reach potential clients. Who knows?

  1. Great blog. I look forward to keeping up with it in Bloglines. I, too, am a new photographer and look forward to learning from your experience. Thanks for the tips!

  2. Idetrorce

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce




Leave a Reply

